Cox elected to Appalachia HIDTA executive board

Anti Money Laundering
Anti Money Laundering

The Executive Director of the Appalachia High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (AHIDTA) Vic Brown has announced that Cumberland County Sheriff Casey Cox has been unanimously elected to serve on the AHIDTA Executive Board for 2017-’18.

The AHIDTA Executive Board provides executive leadership and direction on a multitude of issues pertaining to drug enforcement throughout the AHIDTA area of responsibility which includes 86 designated counties in Kentucky, West Virginia, Tennessee and Virginia.

Brown said that “Sheriff Casey Cox is a well-respected law enforcement professional and his leadership and expertise will benefit the Appalachia HIDTA Executive Board.”

The High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) program is administered by the Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP). A component of the Executive Office of the President, ONDCP was created by the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1988.

ONDCP advises the President on drug-control issues, coordinates drug-control activities and related funding across the Federal government, and produces the annual National Drug Control Strategy, which outlines Administration efforts to reduce illicit drug use, manufacturing and trafficking, drug-related crime and violence, and drug-related health consequences.

Appalachia HIDTA is an important component of the President’s national Drug Control Strategy, which provides additional federal resources to help eliminate or reduce drug trafficking and its harmful consequences. Law enforcement organizations within HIDTA assess drug trafficking problems and design specific initiatives to reduce or eliminate the production, manufacture, transportation, distribution and chronic use of illegal drugs, as well as money laundering activities.

Cox will be joining a very prestigious group of law enforcement leaders from throughout Appalachia HIDTA’s area of responsibility which includes:

Eighth Judicial Circuit of Kentucky Commonwealth Attorney Chris Cohron, chairman; Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Washington Division Office Special Agent-in-Charge Karl Colder, vice Chair; Southern District of West Virginia U.S. Attorney Carol Casto; Virginia State Police Capt. Jerry Davis; West Virginia State Police Capt. Scott Dillon; DEA Detroit Field Division Assistant Special Agent in Charge Thomas Gorman; Eastern District of Tennessee U.S. Attorney Nancy S. Harr; Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Louisville Division Special Agent in Charge Amy S. Hess; Tazewell County Sheriff Brian Hieatt; Northern District of West Virginia Acting U.S. Attorney Betsy S. Jividen; Tennessee Bureau of Investigation (TBI) Assistant Director T.J. Jordan; Western District of Kentucky U.S. Attorney John Kuhn; Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (ATF) Louisville Field Division Special Agent-in-Charge Stuart Lowrey; Western District of Virginia Acting U.S. Attorney Rick A. Mountcastle; Morgantown Police Chief Ed Preston; Knoxville Police Chief David Rausch; DEA Atlanta Field Division Special Agent-in-Charge Daniel Salter; Kentucky State Police (KSP) Commissioner Richard Sanders; Harlan County Sheriff Eric Smith; Middle District of Tennessee Acting U.S. Attorney Jack Smith; Eastern District of Kentucky Acting U.S. Attorney Carlton S. Shier IV; West Virginia National Guard Counterdrug Coordinator Maj. Allen Tackett; and Virginia National Guard Counterdrug Coordinator Lt. Col. William Taylor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *